2019 Danielle Peress Memorial Fund Award

Kristin D. Gerson, MD, PhD has been selected for the inaugural 2019 Danielle Peress MD Memorial Fund Award for her project entitled, “Epithelial-mesenchymal transition in the cervicovaginal space: possible biomarkers of spontaneous preterm birth.”  Dr. Gerson is a first year MFM Fellow in the Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia.  Dr. Gerson’s proposed research will further characterize the cascade of events that lead to premature cervical remodeling and could unveil novel biomarkers to identify those women at greatest risk of spontaneous preterm birth.

The Danielle Peress MD Memorial Fund Award was established in 2018 in honor of Dani Peress, MD whose vision was to further advance the field of MFM by supporting MFM fellows in their clinical or translational research endeavors during fellowship.

Learn more about the Danielle Peress, MD Memorial Fund Award here.