Quilligan Scholars Program Update

In 2013 The Pregnancy Foundation, along with the Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine, inaugurated the Quilligan Scholars Program to honor Dr. Edward J. Quilligan, one of our outstanding teachers and mentors. We identify five future leaders in perinatal medicine currently in their third year of obstetrics and gynecology residency and offer them two years of recognition, special training, and mentoring like Dr. Quilligan gave to so many young colleagues. Last year there were 57 very qualified candidates, making the selection of the 10 finalists and ultimately 5 winners very difficult. However, judging by their subsequent achievements and their fellowship match results, the selection process was successful.

The 2014 Quilligan Scholars are:

  1. Dr. Sarah Rae Easter
  2. Dr. Mohak Mhatre
  3. Dr. Malavika Prabhu
  4. Dr. Emily Scibetta
  5. Dr. Amanda Yeaton-Massey

Time flies and we have just completed the selection process with 63 highly qualified applicants.

The 2015 Quilligan Scholars are:

  1. Yalda Afshar
  2. Jacques Balayla
  3. Mark Clapp
  4. Ahize Eke
  5. Ibrahim Hammad

We are extremely enthusiastic about the program’s benefit to our future leaders as they develop their careers. The selection process has also made it obvious that we have a large number of future maternal-fetal medicine physicians who are outstanding.

Both the 2014 and the 2015 Quilligan Scholars will attend the SMFM meeting as colleagues in San Diego in February. If you see any of the scholars, stop and congratulate them. They are our future.

Lawrence D. Platt
John T. Queenan

Co-Chairs Quilligan Scholars Committee